Use of vernacular in heathen rites

The heathen rites that I’ve attended use at least some Old English or Scandinavian language in the ritual.  Mostly during blot but I’ve also heard it in the opening of sumbel.  Maybe it’s just habit from being raise Lutheran, but I feel like I actually lose a little bit of the sacredness of the experience from this.  I really like to be able to understand exactly what’s being said and at home I use modern English exclusively.  To be sure, I can follow the old tongues well enough to know the gist, and I know there’s an arguement for preserving some mystery in religious ritual.  Still, though I appreciate the reconstructionist efforts of modern heathen scholars and practitioners, my focus is on bringing heathen faith and practice up to date for the modern world.

Leave a Reply

